top of page

Weeping Silence

Weeping Silence is a Melodic Metal band with Death and Progressive Metal influences based in Malta. The band has evolved steadily since its formation in 1998 and has since released four albums with record labels, the latest one being through Massacre Records (DE).

Originally established in the late 90’s as a Gothic Metal act, Weeping Silence started its journey with its first milestone being the release of “End of an Era” in 2008. After a series of lineup changes, the band morphed into the Female-Fronted, Gothic Metal band it was mostly known for.

In 2011, Weeping Silence released its second album ‘Theatre of Life’ that was characterised by mid-pace gothic elements and grandiose orchestrations. The track ‘Dark Waters’ off this album was voted first in the EKR A-List People’s Choice Poll. After the release of this album, the band decided to open the door for international festivals and tours, and opportunities started presenting themselves immediately.

Weeping Silence entered the studio again to record ‘For the Unsung’. Released in deluxe digipack edition in 2012 by Ravenheart Rec (UK), it features male backing vocals for the first time, and marked a step towards a more pronounced Doom Metal element in the band. Within this more aggressive, gothic-doom framework, Anders Jacobsson of renowned Swedish act Draconian featured as guest vocalist.

Towards the end of 2012, Weeping Silence made a change in the vocal line-up. Diane Camenzuli & Dario Pace Taliana joined ranks and a year later the band was nominated for the ‘Best Heavy Metal Band’ award in the National Malta Music Awards (MMAs), and won the ‘Best Band of the Year 2012’ in the Female Metal Webzine awards.

The fourth album ‘Opus IV Oblivion‘, released with heavy-weights Massacre Records (DE), was a Gothic Doom Metal album that brought together the best that Weeping Silence had to offer: Heavy, melodic, dark and full of ambience with doom-laden riffs. This album was listed in Top 20 Best-of Album lists of 2015 in several webzines & Top-10 Awards in Metal Storm, with an array of great reviews & press-clips in magazines such as Metal Hammer, Legacy & Orkus.

2018 was a pivotal year for Weeping Silence that saw a significant member and style reshuffle of the band. Founding member and guitarist Mario Ellul, vocalist Dario Pace Taliana and keyboardist Alison Ellul decided to continue with Weeping Silence and look for new members. Drummer Julian ‘Julinu’ Mallia, guitarist Glenn Paul Pace, and eventually bassist Manuel Spiteri brought in new influences that markedly developed the band’s creative direction.

The eclectic mix of old and new members led Weeping Silence to evolve into the male-fronted, melodic metal (with death and prog metal influences) band that it is now. The current album, due to be released in 2023, is a solid manifestation of the band’s artistic statement and is intended to propel the band into a promising creative path.

Band Members


Glenn Paul Pace


Julian Mallia


Mario Ellul


Dario Pace Taliana


Manuel Spiteri


Alison Ellul



Follow the band

bottom of page