top of page

Zain, the Hellcommander and other stories

Zain Gauci is the new guitarist of Pilgrimage!

photo: Rachel Mifsud

After the departure of guitarist Emanuel Portelli, Pilgrimage announced that Zain Gauci is set to be his replacement in a post on the band's Facebook page which read: "We are pleased to welcome Zain at this exciting time for Pilgrimage. He is a passionate young musician who has already shown his versatility & guitar skills on & off stage. He is both a rising local talent & a great person. Zain will join us for all live shows across Europe starting 2024.

Work is progressing well on the new album set for release next year & we look forward to a string of performances with Zain in support of this record.

We owe a lot to our former guitarists who have given their unbridled passion to see Pilgrimage grow to where we stand today – much deserved respect!"

Horns up for Horned Majesty

In the meantime it was also announced that Zain shall also play guitar in a newly formed Death Metal band titled Horned Majesty, which, is a collaboration of seasoned musicians:

Clint Aquilina (ex Putrid Birth) on vocals.

Mark Azzopardi (Myronath, Ragnarok, Draugul, Khaospath, ex-Martyrium, ex- X Vandals) on bass and backing vocals.

Clayton Cini (Animamortua, Thy Legion, ex-Angel Blade, ex-Relicuia, ex-Shadowborne) on drums.

Zain Gauci (Saint Vermin, Pilgrimage, Chaotic Remains, Halcyon) on guitars.

The band's first single is titled 'Bringer Of Light', which video can be viewed here.

The Hellcommander's return

While all the above news was getting read, Mark Azzopardi, the Hellcommander himself, announced that a solo EP is nearing its final touches before it is launched upon the metal world. The music is now being mixed and mastered by Ihizahg at Sonus Diabolicus Studio in Norway and will consist of four original songs and a cover/tribute one. titled 'Year Of The Goat' it shall be released on vinyl by Pesttanz Klangschmiede at a date yet to be announced.

Lightspeed Collision & Nate Rope

The eagerly anticipated EP by Lightspeed Collision has arrived at last. The self-titled EP features five songs including the single 'Your Worth' which was released in November 2022. Melchior Busuttil produced, mixed and mastered the EP with the band which was released on all major platforms on 20th October.

'Lightspeed Collision' can be listened here.

On the pop side of things Vibe Fm's own Nathan Darmanin released his follow-up to August's debut single 'Losing Myself' released under his slick alias “Nate Rope.” . The new song is titled 'Better Now' and was available on all major platforms from Wednesday 25th October. the song can be listened here.

92 views0 comments


bottom of page